Banos

I was told the must do’s before I got to Banos. Number 1 was to swing off the edge of the world. A French fell from the contraption mid swing a few weeks back. Dead.

There’s a whole bunch of lovely touristy activities to entertain yourself with around here. You can do the rafting, bungee jumping, hiking or swing the dreaded swing… Sad to say- even if I wasn’t drained from the bus ride, none of it interests me. I have been to bali… Off memory you can bungee jump off a tall stand in the middle of a nightclub… Probably shut down now. Point is: what’s the difference between here and there?

The backpackers are a weird sort round here. I can’t put my finger on it… Like a school excursion without the teacher but everyone well behaved, none the less. Very young… or I’m too old.

The town is fairly lush. Most of the time the locals want nothing to do with you(my kind of town). They spend their time converting fresh sugar cane into rock candy and the like. Last night I came across a midweek volleyball tournament in the public grounds behind my hostel. They had an old bird on the barbie at 7pm and the games kept going till 10. I would have liked to join but my Spanish is still rubbish and it seems they took it way too seriously. So would I, though… Good to see.

Heading to the beach tomorrow. A place called Montanita.

If anyone sees a camera store, please let me know. With minimal cleaning utensils it is increasingly hard to remove dirt from the camera body. It can be done both professionally or by mine own hand but I’d rather get it sorted properly. Most snaps go by untarnished. It’s the beautiful sunset snaps that I’m missing out on… It kills me.

Here’s a bit of Banos. From the guy who can’t be assed to climb a hill.

 _DSC6175

_DSC5938

_DSC5886

_DSC5613

Author: lewierussell

In no way am I attempting to right wrongs or uncover great mysteries. This blog is a narrow minded, egotistical, opinion based tangent. It exists as a tool to improve my writing and inform curious parties of my time abroad. Simples.

Leave a comment